The least I can do is try...

The Road Arsenal: Amazing Grass

In Nutrition Bliss on April 20, 2011 at 6:10 am

  

This week has been a bit hectic, but I wanted to make sure to post some info about a product I came across last week that I really like. Before I ramble on about it, I must reflect briefly on why I recommend products. On the road, I just desperately try to stay healthy. I have realized, sadly,  that you cannot depend on most American restaurants to provide the uber-healthy choices that you might opt for at home– therefore, I need a bag of tricks. I look for them at stores– and since it is my nature to babble to anyone that will listen about some of the great (IMHO) options I come across– this is a way for me to share.

OK, so in a prior post,I blogged about the Vega Whole Food Health Optimizer I tried. The berry flavor was pretty decent, but I just was not head-over-heels in love with it to the extent that I wanted to pack up more to tote on the road. I do think it has a lot of healthy things in it, so I may give it another try and shake it up with some organic apple juice and water or something– but I am just not at the level of activity which necessitates it yet…so I will wait a bit.

In any case, I still miss my morning green smoothie on the road, so I wanted to find something to fill the void that was easy and portable. At Whole Foods, I came across a drink mix called Amazing Grass (OK– you have permission to chuckle about the name for a few seconds). The nutrients, greens, probiotics and low sugar content caught my attention.  It comes in tubs and portable mini packets– I decided to grab the mini packets in a few flavors. First, some general warnings– all of these drink mixes look like dirt– do not be scared– they taste better than they look. Do be prepared for someone to possibly give you a scared “excuse me Mister/Miss- do you realize your bottle of water was filled from the sewer”  double-take as you calmly sip dubious LOOKING water. However, do not worry, little do they know how healthy it is…though I can only hope and surmise myself (again– I am not a doctor/nutritionist).

I have tried the following so far:

ORAC Green Superfood: ORAC =  Oxygen Radical Absorbency Capacity. This blend is loaded with anti-oxidants that safeguard your body, allow you to fly, give you X-ray vision, breath that freezes stuff yaddah yaddah. For the literal folks out there– I am just kidding! In any case it seems pretty healthy– so I gave it a try. The taste–pretty good– very faintly sweet– and almost like iced tea. Overall, a pretty painless way to get some added nutrients when I was not able to sautee up some organic swiss chard for dinner.

Raw Reserve Green SuperFood: I shook this up in my water bottle at the airport– it got me the sewer water glance mentioned above. The powder had made my water a scary, dark, nutritious shade of green. I took my first sip apprehensively but I was pleasantly surprised– the taste was subtle– very similar to matcha green tea. This blend is raw, vegan, and contains a bunch of healthy, energy-boosting green things like chlorella, spirulina, and kelp.

Orange Dreamsicle Green SuperFood: This blend boasts the equivalent of 7 fruits and vegetables AND is supposedly alkalizing. With all the great things I have read about body alkalinity I decided to give it a try. The color was green and the taste was really good! It was very subtly sweet and had a refreshing orange note to it. I would say if you are timid about trying any of these, go for this one first!

Overall, I think these are a keeper. If I was at home, I would probably not be as inclined to use these but on the road they certainly come in handy. They make my water more interesting and possibly give me a nutritional boost- what’s not to like! Also, these might be a good smoothie booster for someone that is still apprehensive about blending kale and mangoes together for their morning drink (soooo goood though). I also appreciate that Amazing Grass (hehe) made the product palatable! The only critique I have is that it was a little hard to get the powder into my water bottles. I usually ended up bunching up the top, inserting it into the water bottle mouth,  and kneading all the powder out. If they could make the packets skinnier, that would probably help.

  1. Ok, so having started to travel more for work recently (Springfield, IL = egregious food desert), I totally can get behind this in a way I normally wouldn’t–there ain’t no kale at the TGI-Chilibees, sho’nuff. It does, however, beg the question: what about all the icky BPA-leaching plastic water bottles strewn in your wake?

    Does TSA allow EMPTY water bottles through? I’ve been tempted to try, but I don’t want to sacrifice my 1.5l Sigg to find out. 🙂

    • Hi Luke!

      I am totally with you on the waste! I give myself a travel pass but try to nix them at home when I have an option. TSA DOES allow empty water bottles– I have seen quite a few in the airport. The only prob is– where do you fill it? Usually, you have to be OK with using the bathroom tap. In all honesty– it is probably OK– but ya know– hang-ups 🙂 Water fountains are a possibility– to be honest I have never looked too hard for any– I will be on the lookout tomorrow when I fly out. If there is a water cooler you are good to go! Even better– the Sigg has a wider mouth than the plastic bottles which makes your life easier when try to mix up the “dirty water”.

  2. Hi Geetha!

    I found you via Narm – she forwarded me your blog since she knows I love green smoothies and running too! I hope you don’t mind if I follow along! 🙂

    • Hi Michelle,

      Of course not –I will make sure to check out your blog as well and add it to the blogroll 🙂 Look forward to reading your posts and trading smoothie recipes!

Leave a Reply

