The least I can do is try...

Congratulations Narm and Sethu!

In Friendship Bliss on April 21, 2011 at 1:51 am

My friends Narmatha and Sethu welcomed a beautiful new baby boy into the world! I am so happy and excited for them, so I had to create a post in their honor. Also, since Narm is Hindu and she had a little boy, what could be more appropriate than a picture of the the happy, blue, baby Krishna!

So Narm’s little boy represents so many things to me. First of all, both Narm and I were raised by parents who immigrated from South Asia. Growing up, we had to forge our own path through a diaspora blah blah Jhumpa Lahiri blah blah Harold and Kumar blah blah blah M.I.A. blah blah blahhhhhh. There were some similarities, but there were also differences. Narmatha’s parents hail from Sri Lanka and she is well-traveled– she ended up in Canada via the Middle East and boarding school in England! My parents are from India and I grew up in suburban New York. Narmatha was raised Hindu while I was raised Catholic. Regardless, Narmatha’s baby boy, to me, is the realisation of what we always thought about. When WE have kids, how will we raise them differently from how our parents raised us. Particularly because the differences here are two-dimensional– cultural and generational.

I know Narmatha’s little boy will be well-balanced. Unlike me, Narmatha speaks her parents’ native toungue– so he will be a multi-lingual genius. Baby boy has another thing going for him– he no longer has to apologize for who he is! I believe Narm and I belong to the tail-end of the generation that had to assimilate into apple-pie American culture as completely as possible. I remember having to keep the different foods, names, and family accents on the DL. However, right around the time I went to college, these things became OK. Gwen Stefani slapped a bindi on her forehead and it became acceptable to be me…phewwww. I am so happy for the possibilities that lie ahead for baby boy– he will truly have the best of both worlds and be able to unapologetically be who he wants to be. He will also be the son of a Mount Holyoke woman– so he has some high humanitarian standards to live up to!

Congratulations Narmatha and Sethu on a gorgeous baby!!

Stay tuned for new mommy nutrition posts– I volunteered to be the librarian on this topic!

  1. Aww…this post made me tear up. Must be the hormones 🙂 Just kidding, I loved this. You’re so right, we grew up way too confused for our own good. Hopefully things will be better for the next generatation, although I’m sure they will have their own challenges.

    Hey, I just realized that he won’t be able to go to MHC :O

  2. Haha– well come ~2028 who knows what the status will be 😉

  3. True.

    Your post may have something to do with his name selection. I will fill you in when we chat.

    • I cannot wait to find out his name so I can stop making up names for him! Baby boy, little guy, chosen one, Spock….. 🙂

  4. Lovely post Geetha!! Still can’t believe Narm is a mom. I know she will be a great mom but its sometimes hard to believe we are all grown up 🙂

    • I know Ab– crazy (but good and exciting) isn’t it! I look forward to a bunch of little ones at our next reunion which I am depending on you to come to 😉 I miss our conversations!

  5. Ab, thanks for the vote of confidence! There are def. days (actually nights) when I am close to losing it, so it’s good to hear that other folks have faith in me 🙂

Leave a Reply

