The least I can do is try...

The Hotel Room Culinary Experiment

In Nutrition Bliss on May 10, 2011 at 1:49 am

Yesterday I was having one of those days where I knew one thing– I could NOT bear to eat another restaurant meal. I did not want my food fiddled with, adorned with extra fat, overly-processed, or full of stabilizers and weird junk. I just wanted a simple, healthy dinner!

At home, my usual go-to combo for a healthy meal is a grain, dark leafy green, and healthy protein. After work, I wandered around Wegmans wondering if I could emulate this meal using the microwave in my hotel room. Finally, I picked up some components that I thought would work, along with some additional impulse purchases (i.e. Zico chocolate coconut water– so yummy– tastes like Yoohoo — post on that to come).

Ultimately– these were the items I was able to find:

Seeds of Change Uyuni Quinoa & Whole Grain Brown Rice: It’s ORGANIC– thank you grocery food gods! Brown rice, quinoa, and some seasoning in a nuke-able pouch (90 seconds to heat).

Cascadian Farms Frozen Spinach: This was my leafy green– also organic. I was a little worried about how I would heat this up in the microwave without any significant dishware– but it worked! I microwaved the plastic pouch according to package instructions using the flattened cardboard box as my plate. Luckily, the spinach steamed in the pouch and there was no messy overflow (my biggest fear was short-circuiting the microwave with a green water tidal wave!!).

Henry & Lisa’s Canned Wild Alaskan Pink Salmon:  Rich in omega-3’s, responsibly fished, and really tasty! I decided to go the omnivore route tonight and this seemed like a healthy option.

So I heated my spinach and brown rice, stirred in my salmon, and I ended up with a healthy dinner! It was not exactly what I would have done at home, but it was pretty yummy given the resources I was working with. If I wanted to go the veggie route, I would have thrown in some black beans in lieu of the salmon. Also, if I had a squirt of lemon and a dash of hot sauce, I would have been even happier– next time!

It is worth noting that my dinner was calorically responsible enough to allow me to dip into the agave-sweetened chocolate coconut milk ice cream I wedged into my miniscule hotel freezer 🙂

  1. I know this isn’t the point of yor post, but a nice restaurant meal sounds so good right now 🙂
    Good job on the experiment!

  2. Thanks Narm! Tell Sethu to get you some Japanese take-out!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

