The least I can do is try...

Chocolate Strawberry Rock Star Smoothie

In Nutrition Bliss on June 7, 2011 at 3:37 am

Rock Star smoothie in a rock star glass!!

This week I have a respite from traveling, so I have been taking advantage of the fact that I can have three uber-healthy meals of my choosing every day– no compromise! While I love my green smoothies, I have been in the mood for a change! I wanted a morning pick-me-up that has chocolate– so I devised a healthy chocolate smoothie.

This dairy-free, chocolate, protein smoothie has been my morning addiction whenever I am home. It does not taste particularly heavy, but it keeps me going until lunch– it is also a great post-run recovery treat!

A rock star smoothie requires rock star ingredients! I decided to test out some superfood ingredients for this smoothie:

Maca: A nutrient-dense root vegetable grown in the Andes. Supposed to contain numerous fatty and amino acids and support a healthy endocrine system. Commonly sold in the powdered form of the root. The raw, powdered form I bought had a malty, butter-scotchy scent that was not at all unpleasant.

Hemp Protein: Organic hemp protein is purported to contain essential fatty acids, amino acids, and is easily digestible leading to higher levels of absorption.

Cacao: Raw cacao powder is loaded with anti-oxidants and minerals. People say it is an ultimate anti-ager– I have no clue about that but I love how it tastes. Dark, rich and chocolatey– no complaints here!

Coconut Water: This stuff seems to be all the rage lately– but it just seems so over-hyped that I am keeping my relationship with it low key. Coconut water is a great natural source of potassium and electrolytes (a stellar addition to a post-run smoothie).

I have to note– with the ingredients above– I did some web research before I decided what brand to buy. Particularly because these ingredients can be expensive! I decided to go with Navitas Naturals for my hemp protein and cacao powder because I read multiple positive reviews. My research paid off– the cacao powder was smooth (no bitterness) and the hemp protein blended seamlessly with no graininess or harsh flavors. I picked up a small packet of maca from TerrAmazon which also worked really well.

The line-up

So here we go…

Chocolate Strawberry Rock Star Smoothie

1 cup organic unsweetened almond milk

1/2 c organic coconut water

1 heaping tablespoon raw unsweetened cacao powder

1 tsp maca powder

2 tablespoons raw vegan hemp protein

Stevia to taste (I am a HUGE fan of NuNaturals liquid vanilla)

1/4 c frozen organic strawberries

Throw all of the above in a blender and blast into liquid, chocolate yum!!! If you are feeling like a shock-rock star try throwing in a handful of spinach– I did– it actually tastes good!!

  1. Yum! That sounds amazing!!

Leave a Reply

