The least I can do is try...

My Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Obsession

In Nutrition Bliss on June 21, 2011 at 3:45 pm

For as long as I can remember, I have looved chocolate chip cookie dough. The shrink wrapped tubes, the ice-cream (Ben & Jerry are geniuses), licking the bowl etc. However, eating cookie dough seems to make me doughy (yuk yuk I know).

During the summer, my lethal craving for cookie-dough ice-cream kicks into overdrive. Sometimes I keep this stuff in the house as a healthier alternative and when I am on the road, I always seem to have one of these Larabars on hand. Over the weekend, I decided to take it further and try a recipe by Angela Liddon– a vegan chocolate-chip-cookie-dough blizzard. The soft-serve base is made of just frozen bananas (fiber, potassium, score!), and the cookie dough is laced with good-for-you ingredients. Thank you Angela– I love your blog!

In short, I liked this recipe– it came out well and kept my craving in check in a non-damaging manner.  Check out the recipe here

I liked the cookie dough so much  I made an extra batch to store in the freezer– but I decided to take Angela’s version and tweak it a little to lower the sugar content and add some additional nutrition (so I felt less guilty as I kept popping these yummy cookie dough marbles out of the freezer and into my mouth).

Some of the ingredients in the revamped version are a little more exotic than the original– so here is the 411. As a note– I do realize some of these ingredients can be a little expensive and hard to find if you do not wander the aisles of  Whole Foods for fun like I do. If going this way is not appealing– definitely try the original recipe if you want a healthy, yummy, no-bake treat.

Chia powder: Ground up chia seeds (yes ch-ch-ch-chia). In addition to making great novelty planters, they are also LOADED with omega-3s, protein, anti-oxidants, calcium, magnesium, iron etc.  You can pick these up at most natural food stores–I score mine at Whole Foods. You may also be able to strike a bargain if you search them out on Amazon. I bought chia powder for this recipe, but you could also just throw chia seeds into a food processor or coffee grinder and whiz them into flour.

Stevia: Nature’s 0 calorie sweetener. This stuff has been used in Japan for ages and is becoming popular in the US. Stevia is sold in powder and liquid form– for this recipe, I use the liquid.

Coconut Nectar: A low GI nutritive sweetener. Lately, I have been subbing this in recipes that call for maple syrup or agave– it has a lower GI and it is processed at low temperatures– thus preserving the nutrients. Also, from an environmental perspective, harvesting coconut nectar does not damage the trees– so I feel good about it.  Despite the name, coconut nectar does not taste like coconut– so it does not overwhelm recipes with its flavor.

Cookie Dough Bites

based on recipe by Angela Liddon

1/2 c raw unsalted cashews

1/4 c rolled oats

1/4 c chia powder

1/2 tsp sea salt

16 drops NuNaturals vanilla liquid Stevia

1/2 tsp alcohol-free pure vanilla extract

2 1/2 Tbsp coconut nectar

1/4 c mini vegan chocolate chips (I used Enjoy Life brand)

Throw cashews and oats in the food processor– process until you have a result that resembles coarse sand.

Add chia powder, salt, and stevia drops to the “cashew/oat sand” in the bowl of the food processor and briefly process to combine.

Add coconut nectar and vanilla to the party in the  food processor bowl and process until the mixture comes together into a sticky dough. This typically happens for me in 20-30 seconds– if your mixture is being stubborn, add more coconut nectar in 1/2 tsp increments and continue to process until dough forms.

Transfer the dough to a bowl and knead in chocolate chips. Form dough into shapes of your choosing–my fave is shooter sized marbles– but feel free to experiment! Once the cookie dough shapes have been formed– freeze (I put my in a covered glass dish lined with parchment paper).

These are edible right out of the freezer since they do not freeze solid– though it is possible I just never leave them in there long enough. If you like your cookie dough softer– take the suckers out of the freezer a few minutes before you eat them– if you can bear to wait that long! These are now my favorite afternoon snack to power up for runs.

I am sure this recipe could be dolled-up for the fancy-pants types out there. Maybe some chopped walnuts, or some shredded coconut–something on my list to try for the future.

  1. Mmmmm. Can you FedEx some to me? 😉
    I share your obsession, but with cake batter. Something about that gooey texture gets me every time…

Leave a Reply

